Undercurrent/Kenny Drew
Freddie Hubbard(tp) Hank Mobley(ts)
Kenny Drew (p) Sam Jones (b)
Louis Hayes (d)
Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Englewood
Cliffs, NJ, December 11, 1960, BLUE NOTE BLP 4059 ~

"Undercurrent", is an album by African- American pianist Kenny Drew recorded in 1960 and released on the Blue Note label. It would be Drew's second and last effort for the label, and his last album recorded in the US since in 1961 he'd move to Copenhagen. On the 2007 CD reissue, the album is erroneously given the catalog number 84101 (Royal Flush) instead of its own 84059.

Track listing

All compositions by Kenny Drew
"Undercurrent" - 7:20
"Funk-Cosity" - 8:28
"Lion's Den" - 4:56
"The Pot's On" - 6:08
"Groovin' the Blues" - 6:22
"Ballade" - 5:32


Kenny Drew - piano
Freddie Hubbard - trumpet
Hank Mobley - tenor saxophone
Sam Jones - bass
Louis Hayes - drums